Colorado Association of School District Energy Managers
Dynamic Safety Services Corporation
[_private/sidebar.htm] Dynamic Safety Services Corporation



Adams 12-Jack Dempsey, Jeffco-Tom MacDonnell, Jim Faes, Joe DeMers, Aurora-Bill Chambers, St. Vrain-Ralph Bozella, Poudre-Stu Reeve, Bill Franzen, Thompson Valley-Scott Weber, Summit-Mike Arnold, Mapleton-John Kreutzer, Pueblo #60-Patrick Neelan, Monte Vista-Cyndi Wright, Limon-Les Layton, Tom Hay, Colorado Springs #11-Frank Bernhard, Manitou Springs-Jerry Zimmerman, OEMC-Linda Smith, Rob Pearson, Joan Gregerson, George Sauter, EPA-Robbie Roberts, Patty Crow, CASBO Board-Joan Miller, Bert Huszcza, ASBO Board-John Frombach, EMC-Don Davenport

2. Governor's Office of Energy Management and Conservation Update

  • OEMC is continuing work on rural outreach and mentorship program.
  • Rebuild Colorado is growing. They now offer free design assistance for schools for new construction and major renovation projects.
  • Poudre Schools and Colo. Springs #11 will receive recognition as leaders in energy efficiency in new construction.
  • CASDEM website is up. Thanks to Tom MacDonnell for his efforts in getting this established. Also, thanks to the OEMC and Joan Gregerson for their work.

3. OEMC presentation of recognition awards to five past and present CASDEM chairpersons.

  • Linda Smith from the Governor's Office of Energy Management and Conservation presented to Stu Reeve, Bill Chambers, Ralph Bozella, Tom MacDonnell and Jack Dempsey framed certificates from the Governor for their leadership in energy management in school districts. (See CASDEM website for more info and picture.)

4. EPA award presented to Jeffco Schools

  • Patty Crow introduced Robbie Roberts the EPA's Regional Director. Mr. Roberts presented the EPA Region VIII Environmental Achievement Award to the Jefferson County School District. Jeffco is the only school district in the nation to receive both Energy Star Awards and Indoor Air Quality recognition form the EPA. Tom MacDonnell, Jim Faes and Joe DeMers accepted the award.
  • It was noted that Colorado is 3rd in most Energy Star schools. Colorado is #1 for most school districts receiving Energy Star status.

5. XCEL Rate Case-Jack Dempsey

  • Participation by some districts in the intervention process has been successful. The initial increases were delayed and will be spread over a longer period of time.
  • There is still the hope for a electric rate specifically for schools.
  • The next case has two phases. Phase I will determine how much increase will be approved. Phase II will determine how that increase is spread across the various customer classes, e.g., commercial, industrial, residential, etc. The intervention coalition of industrial customers and school districts will have to split for Phase II.

6. 2002-2003 CASDEM Meetings and Host Districts

  • November 7, 2002-Adams County District #12
  • January 9, 2003-Adams County District #1 (Mapleton Schools)
  • March 6, 2003-Summit County Schools
  • May 1, 2003-Colorado Springs District #11

7. Other business/updates

  • Welcome to CASBO & ASBO Board members present. Success of CASDEM/CASBO strategic alliance was noted.
  • Energy Surveys-Jack Dempsey will resend request for data via e-mail.
  • CASDEM members were encouraged to check website and come back to November meeting with suggestions for changes and for funding (using vendors to sponsor or offering other ways to fund website). OEMC funding was intended to set up website and pay for hosting for first year or so.
  • XCEL billing problems continue. Suggestion was made to take our concerns to the PUC. This discussion will continue at next meeting.

Respectfully submitted,
Bill Chambers
(303) 367-3000 Ext. 28620

Copyright © CASDEM. All Rights Reserved.